The "Alice Project"

A 10th Grade Honors English Tour of "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland"

“The Grade I Deserve” – End Of Project Reflections December 7, 2009

Filed under: After the Deadline,Observations,Surveys — Christian Long @ 4:02 pm

Via SurveyMonkey, all students were asked — on this Monday after the student-submission side of the project has come to an end – to comment on a range of questions.

***

Question 1:

If you were to give YOURSELF an HONEST GRADE for YOUR PARTICIPATION & TEAMWORK now that the PROJECT HAS ENDED, what would you give yourself?

***

Here were their (unedited) responses:

***

1. I believed I worked with my team very well. We had great communication and didn’t run into any kind of major conflicts. Most of our team finished majority of the project before deadlines were closing in. We were good with setting up a specific time for meetings and chats. We worked well in editing and making sure everyone’s writings’ are of decent quality before pending them. I can confidently say we did our best. I tried my best as editor when I was in charge for two weeks. I asked my team multiple times if they had any suggestions for me to do that will benefit our team. And I did my best to put there suggestion into effect.

***

2. I really think I understand Alice. I feel like I knocked the project out. The first week I was editor, I solved pretty much all technology problems my group was going to face, I basically designed the site, with approval of the others of course. I initiated the first CoverItLive session and coordinated the workflow so that it was not all visuals but posts were also being pumped out.
After that things were a lot more normal. I ate lunch and didn’t spend it in your room doing stuff. I think I posted high quality ideas and managed to do some subjects justice in a ridiculously short amount of words. 500 seems so much when one reads them and soooo little when one tries to explain ones ideas. Then I had a post-pause for some time, due to other grades and frankly needing some time to have a life during the break. Yes, this is mostly me saying I am awesome, but that shouldn’t be a bad thing. This is my last chance to influence you towards the A-range for my grade, and if I wouldn’t take it, I would be stupid. Also, the above is my honest opinion of what I did. I may feel like I am being snobbywhile writing this, but I really think I destroyed this and can’t find anything I would disagree with.

***

3. I really did want to do so much more than I did. Life really got in the way during this project and, I take compleate responsibity for that. I had several ideas that I was never able to put in to motion and looking back I wish I would have organised everything better and thought ahead instead of just going with the flow.

***

4. I feel that I contributed great ideasto my group’s blog. When I was editor I didn’t really change much, because I was the last editor. I followed my group’s suggestions, and I found cool new things to post on our blog to make it even more interesting. I was a little slow to get started with the project, because I couldn’t think of anything to write about. It was also hard for me to comment, at first, because I thought I had to expand on the author’s point. I eventually learned that all I had to do was react to the blog, even if that meant just saying if I agreed or disagreed with them. Once I got frustrated with myself for not having good ideas, I actually began to burst with ideas that I couldn’t get down on paper fast enough. I also realized that as I commented, I would get ideas for blog entries.

***

5. ‘A': I can say with confidence that I’ve played a vital role at all times to ensure that my entire team is successful and our blog will be memorable and respected. My team and I emailed each other regularly, even over Thanksgiving break. If someone asked for help on a difficult post, we would all help them find ideas and ways to express those ideas. Sometimes, someone in my group knew what they wanted to say, but couldn’t find a way to phrase it. I tried my best to help them find a way to explain their idea to others, and I also helped with editing grammar.

***

6. I truly believe that I was a helpful contributor for my team in that I did put a lot of effort into the project. Although I was unable to work on the project for a week of the 6 week time period, I did get all of my blogs done, and in my opinion they are of the same quality that they would have been if I had not been at a disadvantage time-wise. That being said, I could have done more to help my teammates with their blogs, and I could have written more than the minimum amount, myself.

***

7. My situation is a little bit different then others participating in the project. I was absent for about two weeks and could not participate in the project as much as others. I’m not trying to use this as an excuse but if given full time I believe I could have been more help to the success of our blog. The work I did for the blog I hope made some sort of a difference in our teams grade and in the judging. I hope in the near future, we will be given another oppertunity to participate in a project similar to this one. If so I’d actually get to do the entire project and feel as if I did not let my team down.

***

8. I would give myself somewhere from an A to a B for this project. At the beginning I feel as if I could have contributed more but I also feel I do not deserve a C. I believe my blogs contributed to the team as a whole because many of my blogs were well planned out and had the intentions of making the reader think. I really tried to put effort into the project because I wanted to be a good team member to others in my group. Like it said in the A answer, I wanted our blog to be memorable and respected and I believe myself, as an individual helped accomplish that for my team’s blog.

***

9. At first when this project was assigned I thought “Mr. Long is crazy!!!” although now that the project is over, I now see that one would have to put in the amount of time and effort to truly experience what this project was about. This project could be in any shape or form in the jobs we apply to in the future. By having this opportunity to use the technology we have now, and discovering new and different ways to communicate, we as individuals have an advantage where many students have not. These experiences could help us “make or break” our job. From the very beginning I have been posting comments and blog entries while helping my teammates in the process. At the end of the project one of my teammates were struggling in finishing their final blogs, so our team helped the person and we were able to allow the person to achieve the required amount. (Not only were the blogs done, but they were done beautifully and one would never know that the person did all of them in one day.) I was also editor for the final 2 weeks and stayed up with my teammates if they still needed a blog for me to look at (even if it was 1 in the morning). I believe the dedication this process allowed us to showcase, offered many experiences that we will use to our advantage in the future and we will cherish forever.

***

10. I did the minimum required for my personal grade, but I know I could have done more to help my team’s blog be taken seriously as far as a resource of ideas.

***

11. B- because I did the minimum amount of what was supposed to be done, but I feel that it was good enough to be considered B range. I communicated with my team and if I needed help I asked for it and if they needed help, I would help them. We suggested things to eachother, and helped eachother out, whether it was technology, or the writing. I think that I worked hard on this project. In fact (and I don’t know if this is a good thing) it was what I’ve been focusing on for the last few weeks. I worked hard and did all my blogs. And as far as I know my team isn’t dissapointed with me.

***

12. I believe the a big part in making the Alice Project work is team effort. I have learned it is not just enough to tell your teamates to do the work, you need to invest some of your own time as well towards helping them. Towards the end of the project I gave phone numbers to each of my teamates so that we could advise and brainstorm together, I can say that if one person had began to panic, we all would have started. The reason that did not happen was because there was no shifting of blame, instead we all worked together calmly. I feel my part played in participation was quite big. I drew the banner, and I designed the blog with my team. First week as editor was also took some time to get used to as far as setting up the basis and communication with each member of the team. Nevertheless, in the end we figured it out, although it took effort. I have learned a lot about teamwork, mostly about what to do when it’s down to crunch time. This experience will be one not easily forgotten.

***

13. I am honestly torn between an A and a B, but I think that my experince with the project leaned more towards a B. I worked hard and tried to help my team out as much as possible, although it was difficult sometimes. I think that My team’s blogs turned out really good and will be memorable. Honestly, I believe that each person in our group helped make this project very successful.

***

14. I would give myself an A- because I thouroughly contributed to my group’s blogs as well as the blogs of others. I know I could have done more, but none-the-less I feel my participation merits some kind of A. I feel half way between an A and a B because I was confident that I played a large role in ensuring our success, but was a little lax about figuring out ideas as far as what would help my team.

***

15. I have never put some much time into a project. At first, I was a bit skeptical when it came time to write a blog, or post a comment. However, as time passed, I felt more confident in my time management skills in class with my team, and at home working alone. My team and I helped each other out with ideas, creativity, and technical skills that will help me strive in the future.

***

16. I feel like I can say with out a doubt, that I invested all my time and energy toward ensuring that I would not be a detriment to my team. I got all of my work done in a timely manner, and hopefully it can be said that my work was of quality. Our team managed to work together very smoothly and we had no internal divides among us.

***

17. I tried to help my group to reach the most number of posts that they could get. We used Coverit Live which was a great way to communicate throughout our group. I tried to bring up questions and ideas to help spark a blog post for someone who was lacking any ideas. Our group had discussions which helped us to understand the story better. I read my groups’ blogs and gave my opinion. I made sure we all reached the minimum amount of blogs. I think we made a great group. We brought out eachothers strengths and were able to make it through the project.

***

18. I got an A for this project because I learned. In the traditional school setting, the student is graded upon their understanding, their product which demonstrates their understanding and overall how well they can apply their new understanding to certain situations. I got an A because I understand. I understand the point, I understand why we did this project in this internet. I got an A for these reasons. However, I did not do outstanding work. I wish I could go back, have a glimpse of the future and show my 6-week-younger-self that I will want to do better. I feel regret for not maintaining a constant level of quality work. For this reason, I got a B.

***

19. I believe I worked very hard throughout the length of the Alice Project. I worked very well with my team and they helped me tremendously. I spent more and more time as the project progress on refining my entries and making them valuable to myself, my group, and the rest of the world.

***

20. I was very excited to make an ‘epic’ looking blog with great posts and everything on it for the first week or two. I made a good amount of progress in those two weeks, and then… I got bored. I didn’t put as much effort into the blog, and as a result I feel it could have been better if I had been more team oriented. I did make progress in those two weeks to make up for the slacking, though.

***

21. ‘A': I can say with confidence that I’ve played a vital role at all times to ensure that my entire team is successful and our blog will be memorable and respected. Since the project began I’ve had the idea that if we always keep in mind what needs to be done, then we could finish on time and without problems. For all my classes, I feel that if I write down my assignments, I’d always be ahead of the game. On GoogleDocs, my team and I have been writing assignements and posting our ideas. (So we wouldn’t forget them) Sure, there have been moments where I’ve been too busy or too tired to help out, but in the end all turned out well. I really enjoyed being editor, and wanted to spruce up the blog to make it appealing. If it caught people’s attention, then it would be read and “respected.” As editor I would sometimes go through my teammates blogs, and with their permission, post pictures or BlockQuote certain parts of their writing, to make it stand out more.

***

22. I do feel bad about the amount and quality of my writing. I believe that I could have made a better effort in the making of the blogs. I could have done more research before the blogs were created and published. Some of the blogs were made on the last several days before the due date. I could have manandged my time better and could have avoided the last minute scramble.

***

23. ‘B': I was definitely involved helping my team with this project, but I really tied to figure things out as far as what would help my team create a great blog full of ideas. I feel like I contributed a lot to my team. I did all the blogs and comments required. Also, our team worked really good together. From the first day, we were getting along and discussing the project. I think we all did an equal part of participation. For example, our cover it live. Also, my team was easy to talk to. So, when I was stuck or didn’t understand anything I could ask my team.

***

24. I would give myself an A- overall. I was active in contributing to the blog, not the entire time though. I regret not being able to give the blog more time and giving myself the opportunity to think more about the story. With our full schedules, I know my classmates and I tried desperately to fit Alice into our lives. Personally, my goal was the minimum, I just wanted to get it done to get the grade. However, half way through the project, I realized that to only ‘get it done’ was keeping myself from the gain that this project has given me. I realized that I should take advantage of the lessons that this project has taught me.

***

25. Besides fulfilling the minimum comment and post requirements, I worked to keep my team on track. I frequently monitered the number of posts my team members had finished to date and set team goals to make sure we would not be rushing at the end. Needless to say, we did end up churning out about a fourth of our posts in the last few days, however the quality was equally as exceptional as the ones we initially composed. I would have liked to do more as a team, however. I think in the future there should be more team requirements in terms of tasks you must accomplish together (i.e.: the web tools). I think perhaps I would have liked to have done a CoverItLive after every three chapters or so. I think overall that would have provided not only a treasure trove of viable blog posts but also an interesting twist to the overall website.

***

26. I feel like I do deserve an A! This was really out of my comfort zone, as in types of schoolwork. I don’t want an A just because I participated, but because I actually emersed myself into it and gave it my best shot, even though I didn’t know what I was getting myself into. I thoroughly gave it everything I had and worked very hard. It may not have been consistently working on it, but the times I did work on it I was very focused. I also feel like I contributed to the team very well, with my blog posts cover it live posts, and design of the website.

***

27.I do feel that I played a vital role at all time to help my team, and to make them successful. I tried my best to help with the technology side of the project, since I had prior knowledge of WordPress. I think that I was really able to help each editor understand their role in the project, and how they can edit posts, submit them from review, and update them. I also feel I was able to help my teammates come up with ideas for blog posts when they were lost, or had writers block. I would point them to interesting ideas, but not tell them exactly what to write. While I was trying to do this for the welfare of the team as a whole, I also tried to help each of my teammates personally improve as a writer and a thinker. I also helped with the design of the website, along with the other students, and feel that I played a key role in its development.

***

28. Although not so much at first, toward the end of the project I became much more involved with my team and all of our stuff. I think that all the work that I did at the end made up for the overall lack of it at the beginning. I feel like I contributed alot to my team and alice project 6 as a whole. I could have done more to help my team, but I still think I did my part, as did everyone else.

***

29. I think I played a big part in participating and helping my teammates. I worked diligently to make the blog what it ended up as. I used some of my photographs to put together a pixel-stretch header, and worked with my teammates to develop an interesting and attention-grabbing name for the blog. I also designed/chose the layout of the blog. I think I did my part inspiring my teammates to write, edit, and proofread their entries. I also helped sort out technological issues. Overall, I think I did my best to help my team.

***

30. The amount of time and effort put into this blog not only by me, but also my teammates allows me to say that truthfully, I believe that an A is a grade that equals our blog. The attention it drew really shocked me and allowed me to realize that we made an impact on the intellectual society. The fact that Mr. Long will be going to talk about this at a real world conference and the attention brought upon the project really surprised and pleased me. Also, the quality of work and skill shown by my teammates surprised me. The difference between hearing them speak and seeing what they wrote was incredible. I wa humbled by the extent of language skill they had. Because of this I absolutely back the stance I took, we deserve an A.

***

31. Overall, I believe that my entire team did a great job. Some of us did more than was to be expected. Once everyone had completed all that was required, we tried to think of what would make our project better. I was constantly wondering what else I could do to improve our team’s chances of getting a good grade. I comnpleted all that was required, and so did everybody else on my team. Once we started this project, I really thought that working with a bunch of boys was going to be difficult, since I was the only girl. But, I highly underestimated my teammates, and I was very impressed by the end results. In the end, I really believe that we did a really good job, and got a good grade.

***

32. I think I deserve an A for this project. I worked really hard on this project and spent a lot of time on it. I thought my blogs out before I published them, and made sure they were really appropriate. I spent a lot of time outside of school leaving comments or writing new blogs entries not because I knew it had to be done, but because I enjoyed it. Not only did I keep up with my blog, but I made sure that my team was getting their job done as well. If one person was falling behind I would talk to them, and make sure they had ideas and if they didn’t I was going to offer some of my ideas so they could complete their total of twelve blogs. I always did work in class when we were given the days to work on it all, and took time outside to do unfinished work.

***

33. I did help my team with some blog ideas, but I could have done more. Also I wish I would have talked more to my teammates about some of my blog ideas, but I kept most of them to myself. During the Cover It Live, I did give really good ideas and responses to questions that analyzed the story. My only regret is that I didn’t give my ideas on how the blog would look because our blog was kind of boring, but we did have a good title. I also wish I could have been more creative on my writing and help give creative ideas to my teammates.

***

34. A: I believe that I played a vital role in the team clockwork. I’ve been constantly involved in what was going on and developed the Gmail Discussion Board idea, proofread every blog on my team, created the header, and made sure my team was always well on track. I worked hard throughout the 6 weeks, even over breaks and weekends. I constantly kept up with my team and kept serious about the work I inputed and honestly contributed a high level of my creativity to the overall blog.

***

35. ‘A': I can say with confidence that I’ve played a vital role at all times to ensure that my entire team is successful and our blog will be memorable and respected. I feel like I worked extremely hard on this project for the past few weeks. It has been my academic priority and usauly came before most of my homework. Many of the questions that I asked in my blogs seemed to interst those who read it. I also spent a night putting together a voice thread over some of the illustration in the book.

***

36. I can honestly say that I helped my team’s blog be as successful as possible. I met all the requirements and beyond. I really put time and effort into my blogs. I also analyzed the story very well and had alot of good points in my blogs. I know that I played a vital role in my team’s successful blog.

***

37. I would give myself an A because I feel that I helped contribute many important factors in our project. Together as a team we all put in a lot of effort. We worked well together and I made sure that not only I was doing my part, but that they were doing theirs. I took this project seriously and put a lot of effort into understanding Alice so that our blog could be filled with intersting and creative ideas. I spent a lot of time ‘studying’ Alice in order to come up with ideas for our blog. evryone on my team did an excellent job and I am really happy with the turn out of our project. I think me and my group have created an inviting and memorable blog.

***

38. Throughout the duration of the project I drove my team to have personal and team deadlines. The majority of these deadlines were met, and members that did not were made aware of their responsibilities. I created a system of organization that made sure all of our work was recorded and ready at a moments notice. I created a timesheet system that recorded our individual working time on the project. This was done for the purpose of encouragement to work harder and to provide the data should needs arise. Both of these systems were kept in googledocs where they were safe against deletion or any other human/mechanism problems. I feel confident that as a team we accomplished a pinnacle. While we could have reached higher with our work quality and quantity, we still performed extremely well as a whole and as individuals.

***

39. ‘B': I was definitely involved helping my team with this project, but I really tied to figure things out as far as what would help my team create a great blog full of ideas. I believe that our entire team worked very hard, and we all tried to accomplish as much as we could. While it is true that I completed most of my work last minute, I would say that my involvement with both the project and my team mates had been stellar up until and including then. I have always enjoyed Alice and I especially enjoyed this blog, my greatest regret was that I was not able to devote more of my time to this project because of other obligations. I genuinely enjoyed both this project and my my teammates. The reason I give myself the “B” is not because I believe I deserve a “B”, but instead because while I did work very hard, I did leave it to the last moments. A few days to a week is not the perfect amount of time to work on all the blogs we had been assigned. However, I accomplished all of my blogs and I feel very confident about the results.

***

40. In all, I brought this everything on the weight of my shoulders. If I never procrastinated, everything would be in place and right. My grade would be fine and possibly from harms way.But sadly, I did procrastinate. And that led to my downfall. I feel I “deserve” a ‘D’, or maybe not even that something less, because I didn’t even meet the requirements, which I know is unacceptable. However, I still let things slip, and that grade, I mentioned, should probably be a punishment to me. My feelings are being twisted inside whenever I think about my work I contributed, which then make me feel kind of sick to my stomach a little. I don’t like to think about the project too much because I can only think of negative outcomes. But that shouldn’t be the case. This project should have been a benefit to me and remind me 10 years from now what I was able to accomplish. However, it will never happen now. So, in all, my grade would have to be a ‘D’ because I did very little to help with our project.

***

41. I believe I deserve a “B” because while I had high quality writing, I failed to help my team, as a whole, succeed. I had many blog ideas, but I failed to get them across to my team members who were struggling with the project. As a team, we were very disconnected and the project, for us, was much more a group of individuals working. During, the process there was very little communication between all of the team members. And the little communication that took place in class usually had little to nothing to do with the project. Even though it was not just me as an individual not communicating, I feel that if I did communicate the team may have also began working together and all of us would have reached the minimum number for blog entries. But with this said I am still confused as to how we were really supposed to work as a team. I felt as though unless using a collaborative entry, it was impossible to communticate. As I was typing that last sentence, I realized that if a team member wa stuggling, they could have come to the others for help developing ideas. This did not happen though because of the lack of communication within the group.

***

42. I feel that I was a vital factor of our project. Although I only completed the minimum of 12 blog entries, I had an abundance of comments and used a few of the web collaboration tools. My entries were well thought out and accurate. I did rush at the end of the project to get my requirements done, however I had already been working on the entries prior to the final week. I helped my team to understand the web collaboration tools and use the blog more effectively. Most of the time I felt compelled to respond to the posts of my classmates. I had many ideas to help my teammates that I think made our blog better. I was a vital role because I don’t think our blog would have been nearly as good without me. Our conversations were fueled by a driving force of wonder and questioning.

***

43. My team and I weren’t as cohesive as I would have liked, but we certainly worked together. It was never until the end that I started to comment on my team’s blogs, but I had no idea that I could have done that until near the end. I tried to hlep my team with blog ideas, and if they ever had a question than I would answer with my best response. I feel real good about the work that my team produced. One of my members was a big contributor towards our team, and we, along with him, helped one another out. He may have actually commented on the blog, but the rest of the group helped out verbally. Do not think we were not a team because of the lack of comments on each others blogs. Our group worked more verbally than by using writing.

***

44. I had fun with my blogs closer to the end. I will admit that I did procrasitnate, but I think that some of my final blogs were a little bit better then my beginning blogs. That could just be that I had a better understanding of how to take the blogs. I did lack in comments because I was not really sure how to comment back. I can read them, but I can’t really think of a way to respond back to the blogs, unless I get a new idea from the blog. I’m not very good at giving insight on a blog unless I am responding to a comment on my own blog. I’m better at giving ideas to ponder then to answer ideas.

***

45. ‘B': I was definitely involved helping my team with this project, but I really tied to figure things out as far as what would help my team create a great blog full of ideas. During the first and second week of the project, I was not as helpful to my team as I would of like to been. I did not post that many blogs or comments. As the project progressed I began to pick up the pace and got more invovled and actually started enjoying this project. As I became interested in the project blog posts and writing comments came easier to me. I don’t think I deserve an a because I could of done more. I did fifteen blogs and more than fifteen comments but I still know I could of done more. I believe A’s should only be rewarded to those who have done the most they possibly could. I don’t think i should earn a grade below a B because I did commit to the team and project. I supplied more blogs and comments than required. Also, during the week that i was editor I did a lot. I spent a very long time looking for pictures for our header and thinking about our title. I made a header, even though it was not the final header, it still added to the project because there were people from all around the world looking at our project.

***

46. I can not honestly say that I played a vital role at all times. Our team had several members who had leasdership qualities which could often cause tension amongst our group. Even with the tension we were able to work things out most of the time and settle certain issues peacefully. It is hard to work with several leaders and I consider myself to be somewaht of a leader therefore making it obvious that someone would have to step down and take a step back. I worked on my blogs and comments and did not help much on our actual blog appearance after being editor for one week. The look of the blog caused constant tension in our group throughout the whole project ,but in the end I think we all decided to just let it be what it is instead of constantly battling and changing the banner.

***

47. I really believe that our group accomplished the task given to us. I constantly worked to make our blog respectable with comments and blogs themselves. I was the editor the first week, but I continued to help my group no matter wha the circumstances were. I think that the effort and the merit of the work allows me to get an A. I went above the requirements, while also making the posts genuine. I also came up with the design of the website. Overall, I played a vital role at all times. I also ensured that everyone got to the end of the project, without wanting to hurt anyone. Our group worked tirelessly and I applaud their efforts. We created an immortal blog that will forever give students the opportunity to see whats down the rabbit hole.

***

48. I did try to help out the group by writing my best, but I could have done more by trying to focus on helping motivate each team member and not focus only on the writing. I probably could have actually written more and tried to be more insightful with my entries, but that is what I think now as I look back over what I have written. At the time I was quite pleased with what I wrote. I think I could have helped more by trying to help inspire my team mates to finish their minimum, at least. In stead of just doing my own thing, and hoping they would finish. Basically the team could have been more like an actual team then just happening to write on the same blog.

***

49. At first, I did not really understand what to do. I also thought my ideas were terrible. Eventually, though, it became more comfortable to write blogs and comments, but by this time, it was too late to really make a gigantic impact. I also procrastinated and ended up posting 9 blogs in about two days.

***

50. I think that I should recieve an A because I put as much into this project as I could. I did all of my comments and blogs with enough time to spare. I thought that all of my blogs and my comments were of good quality.

***

51. Well, I have to say that the blogs kind of ran away with me. As soon as I got past the mental block of worrying about dates, the ideas just started jumping out at me. I helped my team mates think of ideas or finish up one that was just hanging out there. I did more than just the 12 blogs and 15 comments, so my part of the team grade wasn’t lacking.

***

52. While I only really did the ‘bare minimum’ in far of the number of blogs I published, I’d like to think that they were fairly lengthy and unique. I tried to stay within the parameters of the project while not being obvious; whether I succeeded is up to interpretation, but I think I at least gave it an admirable effort.

***

53. Well, to be honest, it probably doesn’t look like I put a lot of work into it; mainly because of the fact that I crammed most of my blogs and comments into the last few days. But, I honestly did work pretty hard beforehand as well…I know I probably took a little too much time on my blogs, but I didn’t want to post anything I wasn’t proud of. And, I’m very proud of my first few….I’m not too fond of some of my last ones, but I do feel that I got a good point across on them.

***

54. I exceeded the minimum number of blog posts and comments and all were of good quality. I encouraged some teammates that were not working as hard as they could and I worked towards creating a unique look for our blog and worked on making sure we met all the requirements as a team.

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.