The "Alice Project"

A 10th Grade Honors English Tour of "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland"

“Confidence About the Technology” – End of Project Reflections December 7, 2009

Filed under: After the Deadline,Observations,Surveys — Christian Long @ 5:14 pm

Via SurveyMonkey, all students were asked — on this Monday after the student-submission side of the project has come to an end — to comment on a range of questions.

***

Question 5:

Do you feel confident about the TECHNOLOGY side of the project now that the PROJECT HAS ENDED?

***

Here were their (unedited) responses:

***

1. Sort of. At the beginning of the project I was worried about being editor. I didn’t know how to put things as pending and stuff like that. But as time went on my team proved to be very helpful. As the helped me I grew a lot in confidence. I felt so much better about technology for this project that I volunteered for 2 weeks of editor for this project. Now I’m a lot more confident in technology than I was before the project.

***

2. Yes. Really nothing hard. No css ever used (even though I learned it specifically for this project (-.-) oh well…) no other code ever necessary. This may be extremely haughty by me, but I am more prompted to ask “what technology?”. Yes, web 2.0 is fun and intriguing, but it is not something I would count as even semi-hardcore technology. I think this should be less about the “ohh… shineeeeeeee. technology” and more about why this technology is used and how it helps. The use of web 2.0 definately helped the process. It encouraged collaboration, which (as I argued in number 3 and 4) is extremely important to the creation of ideas and the development of the student.

***

3. Technology played a huge roll in this project. At first it was a bit of a shock because, we worked on laptops every day for the entire class pierod for about 5 weeks so, that was very different. However, as time went on, it became more natural and we were able to ajust very well. I personly had very very few problems on the technolgy side of things other than some trouble with uploading and such so, that was very comforting. The technology we used may seem complicated and very unrelated to english class or Alice.

***

4. All during the project I knew how to use WordPress well enough. I knew how to make a new post, write the post, and save it as a draft or submit it for review. When I became editor there was a new aspect of having to know how to change a blog from draft status to pending, but that still wasn’t too challenging. As I continued to find new things to write about I found new functions of WordPress to go along with them. I learned how to embed a video or other media, and embed a link into my post. The hardest thing for me was when I got admin power to change settings of our page. I did need some help on that, but I gradually learned how to mess with some of the functions to make our page even more fun and unique. My group really helped me with some of the technological aspects of this project, so that I could focus more on writing instead of worrying about the tech stuff.

***

5. Absolutely, 100%, No doubt! I had some doubts about the quality of thought in my posts at the beginning of the project, but as more outside people left Mr. Long comments about how great they thought our project was, my confidence grew. The attention that adults gave to us “10th graders” told me that we definitely had the quality of writing and thinking needed. I was especially proud when during a Cover-it-Live session, one of the “judges” asked what age group we were. I was even prouder when she said that our ideas were far above the sophomore level. I am very proud of the Alice Project and have no doubts about the quality of thought and writing now that the project has ended.

***

6. Sort of. I, personally, am very inexperienced with technology. I’ve never taken the time to try to figure out how to work various computerized programs-If I don’t know how to use it, I don’t. This project challenged me to work with different technological programs and “widgets” in order to make my team’s blog the best it can be. I do believe that I learned a lot about technology through the process, and may even use some of the tools in the future. That said, it did take me awhile to figure it out.

***

7. I feel 100% about the technology now that I have had a good amount of practice with it. In the begginging, I struggled to keep up because my lack of knowledge with the site, but as soon as I played around with it for awhile, I got the hang of it.

***

8. For the most part, although a few things confuse me. This is the one aspect of the project that I feel still is a little confusing. Never working with WordPress before, it was a completely new concept to me. I was introduced to something very new and from the technology aspect, I am still learning. I do not fully understand WordPress and if asked, I do not believe I could run my own blog to the best of my ability. WordPress was the only aspect of the project I never really connected with. If I was asked if I wanted to work with WordPress again, I would have to say no. I just didn’t like the complexity of it and personally, I found WordPress troublesome.

***

9. Absolutely, 100%, No doubt. I believe my classmates and I discovered many different ways to use technology in our blogs to showcase what we have learned. Some of the technology were “for show” and some were for fun, yet the way we presented them was something to accknowledge. I do know there was no way for us to discover all of the different technology devices that were out in the world, yet with the ones we did find, we used them to our advantage to truly showcase what we have learned.

***

10. I feel confident about the Technology side of the project now that the project is over. Posting blogs and comments seem easy to me in terms of technology, nothing confused me technology wise. Sometimes the site was acting weird, but the problem was easily fixed.

***

11. Yeah of course. Technology is my thing. Theres not a day that goes by that I’m not on a computer. This was by far the easiest concept to grasp on the entire project. Not that hard to understand actually. That’s how the world is now a days. Full of technology. You would be considered out of the loop if you didn’t know what you were doing.

***

12. Absolutely, 100%, No doubt! The technology part was one side of the project that took time to learn for me. However, now I can start my own blog and I have learned how to use tools for when I need them in the future. The prezi presentation was something I feel will be very useful. It was hard to use at first, in my opinion, but the final result was satisfying. In fact I was proud of myself for making something that looked complicated, when in reality, once you get the hang of it, is easy to do. I showed my mom and many other people what I could do with the blog and tools, for the most part they were pretty impressed. It was also a new experience to be able to use the computer during class time, which didn’t really feel like class at all.

***

13. For the most part, although a few things confuse me. Now that the project has ended, I feel really good about the technology side. I am comfortable with the website and publishing blogs. Although there are a few things that still confuse me, like changing the format of the website.

***

14. Absolutely, 100%, No doubt! Sure, I feel like the technology aspect was fairly simple. It proved to be the most vital property of the project because it allowed all our posted thoughts to amount to something in the real world. We were able to share our ideas with others which in turn gave them actually value for some one. Instead of just being turned in on a sheet of paper and read solely by Mr. Long, technology allowed us insight via communication.

15.  I absolutely love the technology side of it! At first, I understood technology, but I was definately a newbie when it came to the blogging aspect. I was used to commenting on Chase the Rabbit, not making and managing my own blog. Thanks to much help from my group, we learned together on how to “pimp” out our site, embed videos and pictures, and add/ create links.

***

16. For the most part, although a few things confuse me. Technology an I don’t get along very well, though I must admit after spending the last 6 weeks with my nose pressed to a computer monitor we are now on speaking terms…at least for the moment. Other than the occasional tech glitch things ran fairly smoothly.

***

17.  I learned so many new things about technology with this project. I have always been good with computers. Now I know so many cool programs to do school work on. This is the first time we have done a project that was all technology. I think it was great. In a world surrounded by technology, it is important for use to learn to use it. This project convinced my parents to buy me a laptop! I love that we get to use technology in this class. It makes the class unique. We finally got to use a computer in class using something besides Word or PowerPoint. I think the technology involved in this project is what made it so successful. I will always remember this project.

***

18. The Internet is like Wonderland. What am I saying… Everything is like Wonderland, because Wonderland is nothing, and everything. The internet is there… I can see it… I can look at it and talk on it and share my postulations on it. But the internet is not there. I can’t hold the internet, I can’t point to a location on a map and say “that’s where the internet is,” because it’s everywhere. The internet is traveling through my mind, through the air and through the bricks in the wall. So is Wonderland. Wonderland is in my head. I can see it, right in front of my eyes, but I cannot go there. I can’t physically take my body and walk to the threshold between Calgary, Canada and Wonderland. However, I can go to Wonderland whenever I want, just like I can boot up my Mac and go to the internet. In this way, I am forever lost, like Alice.

***
19. Well, thanks to my teammates, I have been able to grasp the technological aspect of the project extremely well. I have learned how to use numerous web 2.0 tools and how to manipulate blog posts. I have alos learned how to have my pesky laptop do what I want and not the other way around.

***

20. I loved the technology part. Doing this online is why it was a fun experience… other people got to see our work and critique it, other students actually realize who is(n’t) a good writer, and so on. This project really opened up a lot of doors, but the Web 2.0 tools were more of a nuisance than an aid, if you ask me.

***

21. For the most part, although a few things confuse me. I liked doing the Prezi, and the task of being editor was easy to handle. The most confusing aspect of the project was using “Cover It Live,” which took a while for me to figure out. Once I did, it was open season with the live polls and ability to post pics/videos.

***

22. Although technology will continue to confuse me, I believe that technology was getting easier to use as time went on. Using the technology makes it easier to express my ideas and research new ideas for the blogs. I really only had a problem with navigating the ‘vast’ amount of information that was on the site.

***

23.  I loved how this project was on the computer. I quickly learned how wordpress worked and how to submit comments and blogs. Also, with the spreadsheet on google docs made it a lot easier. I never had worry about how many blogs or comments I had done because I had it all on there.

***

24. Yes, I’ve never had much trouble with technology, so this was not a worry to me. I do plan on making my own blog on wordpress soon, just about life. I feel that everything is connected, even randomly, but it all matters.

***

25. The technology did not phase me very much at the beginning of the project, and I only learned more as the project progressed. However I did witness some technological issues within my team and elsewhere, and I found myself grateful to have experimented on the class blog, Chase The Rabbit, prior to beginning the Alice Project.

***

26. Sort of. TECHNOLOGY. Okay well I know our English teacher is some tech-wizard but most of us are not! We are the internet generation, but the blogging world is very new to me. Some more explanation of prezzie, cover it live, web layouts, and all those other fun things that I have just now discovered were not easy to understand. I figured them out after much head-banging, but I would have liked some more direction from the self proclamed master blogger, Mr. Long. I know it’s my responsibility to seek out that help, but I’m sure many other students felt the same as I did, like for example all of my other group mates [super-wink].

***

27. Yes, I feel completely confident about the technology side of the project. I learned, easily, how to use WordPress to express my and my teammates’ ideas in the best way possible to make them interesting for the reader. I also learned ways to collaberate with my teammates, as well as anyone in the outside world, by using tools such as CoverItLive. I also used Prezi to make a presentation at the end of the project, which I put together, but all of the teammates contributed to. In order to do this, we used GoogleDocs, another amazing technological tool, to collaberate with each other. My teammates shared all of their ideas with me, and I used them to make a final, collective, presentation about the project.

***

28. A: I feel confident about the technology part of the project. I liked the tech part alot. I liked it much more then any traditional project. I would like to do something else like this in the future.

***

29. There is no fear here. I think that as the project has progressed, the understanding of all things technologic has skyrocketed. After all these advancements, I think there’s nothing that we can’t learn to do, at least with these new devices and tools.

***

30. I want to say yes, but in truth I’m a bit confused. The technology requirements, I feel, seemed to take away from the power of the posts. I have never been really good with computers and so I felt as though I was forcing the technology upon my ideas. I like old-fashioned and so, if this project had been paper and pen or preferably, quill, ink, and parchement I would have been fine. The subtle reminders of it were everywhere though. Technology gave Alice a gun.

***

31. This was my number one concern about the project. To tell you the truth, I’m not much of a techy. I wanted to learn more about technology, but I thought that it would just take more time. I tried to help one of my teammates out on the technology part, but I just wasn’t familiar with anything. My teammate was, thank goodness. This is one thing that I regret. I wish that I could’ve helped out more with the technology, but I guess I needed to do that before the project started….

***

32. This was the only part of the project I understood in the beginning. Technology was easy for me, well I think being in my generation helps. I know how everything worked and how the blogs were set up. I struggled with everything else besides this. But now I know all of this especially the technology part. I loved this part though, because I could learn a lot more stuff.

***
33.  I am confident about the technology side of the project. My only question through the entire project was about editing. I understood how to use a computer and how to save my writings on Google Docs and how to post comments and posts. The technology was confusing a little at first because I had never written a blog, but after the first day it was very clear to me.

***
34. For the most part, yes. I certainly think we got ahold of any necessary concepts. We even thrived upon Gmail and used a “Discussion Board.” However, there were a few personal problems I had that I am only curious about after doing this project… primarilly for the fact that I’d like to start my own blog and know how to make every inch of it. As for the Alice Project, we had no immediate problems to really acknowledge.

***

35. Absolutely, 100%, No doubt! I do feel very confident of about the technology. At the beginnig of this project I wasn’t so sure about how I was going to cope with it, but now I realize that it was a breeze once I figured it out.

***

36. Some of the things confused me. I guess there was a part that I missed when you were talking about the technology. So I am a little confused.

***
37. Yes I understand the technology better now that I have done the project. I am much more familier with the technology now that I have done the project. I like the technology and I hope we get to use it again.

***

38. I feel that I was adaptable and learned every tool easily and can now use it expertly.

***

39. Absolutely, 100%, No Doubt!

***

40. Over time I found the technology getting easier to use as I worked with it more.

***

41.

WordPress made everything easier. The simplicity of getting to communicate your thoughts was very nice.

***

42. Sort of. I am still confused by the editor portion of the project. I was not a great editor.

***

43. For the most part, although a few things confuse me. At the beginning of this project, the technology what confused me the most. Now though that the project has ended, I feel more confident about it. There are still some aspects that I would like to know. There are multiple widgets that I did not know what they meant, and I still do not. This is no fault of Mr. Long, he was very hlepful. THere were just times when I did not know what To do. The whole blog dashboard is quite hard to understand and there was never a tutorial. I believe if there had been a tutorial, then our page could have looked a lot better. It already looks very good, but I still wished if I could have known more. That knowledge would ahve embellished our project a lot more.

***

44. For the most part, although a few things confuse me. Like I said before, the first week was very difficult being editor. No one knew of the submit for review button. Everything would be posted to a google docs and I would read it and i would show it to Mr. Long. As time progressed, we gained experience with blogs. We became familiar with wordpress. Technology helped, but every once in a while technology failed.

***

45. Going into this project, I didn’t know a lot about technology. I feel like i learned a lot about technology during this project. I used more tools than i have ever used before. Sorry for such the short comments but i can’t stay in tutorial!

***

46. I hate technology. I always have, but hopefully I will come around to it one day. I found the fact that we had to rely on technology for this whole project to be a little annoying. There was a week when I had to go to my dad’s house where his computer was down due to a virus. This made it hard to keep up and not fall behind. The fact that everything had to be done through wordpress or gmail was very annoying and frustrating.

***

47. Technology was definitely a major part of the project. When I entered this project, I had no idea how to link or how to alter HTML’s. I am proud to say that after this project, I feel more comfortable with technology in general. I was never that into technology, but after this project, I feel as though the web can be used to best identify the topic at hand. Words are a powerful tool, but with a hint of technological prowess, we can make our words sing. This gives us the opportunity to present our ideas in their best light. To get to this point though, takes alot of work. I spent countless hours reviewing the technology so that I could feel comfortable in the realm of technology, but overall it is very useful for my knowledge base and comfort with the given subject. So my response is: Absolutely, 100%, No doubt!

***

48. I don’t like technology. It doesnt like me. I can, however, sign a peace treaty with it for projects such as this. While the project was going on I was frustrated often by the technology, but now that its over I see it’s not so bad. So yes, I am confident about the technological side of the project. everything worked and continues to work, so I don’t see how I couldn’t be. Besides, without technology the project wouldn’t exist and I am confident in the project so i am confident in the technology.

***

49. Absolutely, 100%, No doubt! I have never doubted the technology side of the project. Although it was confusing at first, after awhile I began to understand how it worked. Once I got used to it, the project became easier. WordPress and other websites of the same kind can be utilized and turned into powerful tools to get ideas and thoughts across to others around the world.

***

50. For the most part, although a few things confuse me. When I was editor, I really didn’t know how to do anything. I was left wondering how to do most of the things an editor was supposed to do.

***

51. Well, I’m still exploring the different websites and trying to figure out exactly how they’re supposed to work, but that’s usually how it is with new websites. Other than that, I feel pretty good about the tech. part of it.

***

52. Sort of. This is mainly due to the fact that my home computer had problems running some aspects of WordPress. As such, I can’t ‘confidently’ choose number one as my answer. If my computer had worked fine with WordPress, I’d have gone with the first answer.

***

53. For the most part, although a few things confuse me. I feel that I could have done a much better job on the layout of our site, making it more creative and such, but I couldn’t really figure out how to edit the CSS and do HTML on wordpress. So, that was a bit of a bummer. And I kind of lacked on the banner, and just did a google search rather than a full on photoshopped blend. But, it still looked nice.

***

54. After the first two weeks everything made sense and I was able to utilize the tools given as if I had been working with them for months.

 

Leave a Reply

