The "Alice Project"

A 10th Grade Honors English Tour of "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland"

“Day-to-Day Expecations Tasks” – End of the Project Reflections December 7, 2009

Filed under: After the Deadline,Observations,Student Entries — Christian Long @ 4:53 pm

Via SurveyMonkey, all students were asked — on this Monday after the student-submission side of the project has come to an end — to comment on a range of questions.

***

Question 3:

Do you feel confident about the DAY-TO-DAY EXPECTATIONS & TASKS of the project after the PROJECT HAS ENDED?

***

Here were their (unedited) responses:

***

1. for or the most part, although a few things confuse me. I feel like if I was to redo this project from the start I would do many things differently. Now that I know that I look back at the whole project I know I could of done some changes such as time management but I am still very pleased with the work I did. I believe I could of done something like 3 comments then one blog. This way I would of got more feed back from the people aroung me. I also believe it would of gave me more ideas to debate about.

***

2. Yes and No. I don’t think there are any day-to-day expectations. everything is more in a “relaxed” schedule. This doesn’t mean there is less pressure. The lack of deadlines gives the project a relaxed “I’ll do it when i want to” feel, while still being due at the end. There are deadlines, virtual ones, but we do not directly see them. We get a feeling of flexibility like few other projects allow. The blogs took more time than any other project I have done until now, and yet it felt a lot easier than most others. I spent more time on it because I wanted to. I chose to and that was that. So I would state that less reulations gave me personally a better atmosphere, a better work ethic and less resistance against the “authority” that had given me the work. Well played in more than one way.

***

3. Most of the tasks were simple things like making sure that blogs and comments were done but, I did have some trouble with the technology side of things. One thing that really got me was the creating the blog and adding pictures and videos and such however, my teamates were able to help. Over all there were no real major tasks that couldn’t be handled.

***

4. The day-to-day expectations and tasks of this project were not so specific to the individual day. The main idea was to work hard each individual day. The expectations and tasks were more specific to the overall project. You had to submit at least 12 blog entries and 15 comments, and comment on each of the other blog sites. As an editor you also had an extra responsibility to read and edit your team’s entries, and to submit them to Mr. Long. There was not a specific assignment each day such as, begin two drafts monday, submit one wednesday, so on and so forth. It was more of what you could get done in that day, as long as you had everything finished by the end of the project.

***

5. Absolutely, 100%, No doubt! You gave us practically every day in class for the entire class period. You told us exactly how many posts you wanted and how many comments. You told us how long those posts and comments had to be. I had no confusion over what was expected for quantity.

***

6. Sort of. I understand that we were expected to come to class everyday having read up to the point assigned, work on blogs or comments, collaborate with our team, etc, but is that everything? I honestly found it difficult at times to get much done in a 45-minute class period in which other students are talking amongst their teams and sometimes distracting. I feel as if my team possibly should have utilized class time more to collaborate and help each other with ideas as well as our own team projects instead of individually working on our own blogs every single day; however, if not for that, I am not sure what more I could/should have done day-to-day (in class or out of class, really).

***

7. Yes, but at some points in the project I could have done a better job with time manangement and devoted atleast a portion of my day to the project. If I would have done this, I believe that most of my work would have had better quality and I would have understood it more in the earlier stages of the project. I feel really confident in exceeding Mr. Long’s expectations not only because I should but because it comes natually now.

***

8. We were given roughly 6 weeks to complete this project and I believe that is the perfect amount of time to complete this project. It takes time to complete a good, thought-provoking blog and as students we needed the time to think and not get rushed through it. This blog was completely new to us and we needed the time to learn about the blog, collaborate with our teammates but also work as individuals. If I were to redo this project with another book, my confidence would be alot higher on many different levels because I now have a much better understanding of the blog and what the expectations were.

***

9. Absolutely, 100%, No doubt! I believe as long as you, the student, were proud of the work that was completed at the end of the project, it shouldn’t matter what you did day-to-day. Whether you were the one who waited last minute to finish their comments or blogs or you paced yourself, the ending product is what matters. Who knows maybe you learned that time management is a GOOD thing. Yes, the reasonable way is to do a little of the project each day, but if that’s “not how you roll” then who is to say that YOUR way is wrong? As long as the task is done on the day it is due, and the person is happy and content with their work and what they have learned the day-to-day expectations should not matter.

***

10. I understand the day to day expectations now that the project is over. Before I thought I kind of understood it, but I didn’t. I spent most of my time messing around the first week, but later into the project. I gradually got better and began understanding the amount of work required more. I discovered that I couldn’t put things of to the last minute, and so i understand it much better now.

***

11. Yeah I’m confident that I know what they are. But did I follow through with them. Sometimes it was no. I realize now that I could’ve probably worked a little harder on the days we had in class. This probably would’ve made the project a whole lot easier, and less of a burden. I could’ve actually had fun with it and tried new things with my blogs. But instead, since I didn’t use my time wisely at first, I was forced to stick with the generic blog entry. The expectations I know, it’s just how I went about getting to them that bothers me.

***

12. Absolutely, 100%, No doubt! The day to day expectations were pretty clear cut to me from day one. The minimum requirements and number of comments were clearly stated, which allowed me to plan out the pace in with which I wanted to progress. The hardest part was developing the habit to do posts regularly. Finding ideas took time, but it helped to leave comments so we could see what other people were writing and what would inspire us. The minimum requirements for comments wasn’t hard, in fact it was the easy part. Reading what my other classmates had to say naturally made me inclined to leave a response either way. Overall, the brainstorming as well as time management took a while to figure out, but everything else worked out pretty smoothly.

***

13. Sort of. When this project started I was very nervous that I would not be able to complete what was required, do to other activities and other homework. As the project progressed I decided to get all my comments out of the way. This helped a lot, because now I just had to focus on my blogs. Though I finished my blogs in time, felt very rushed. So in the end I think that I could have manage my day-to-day tasks better.

***

14. For the most part, although a few things confuse me. I feel like my participation wasn’t distributed evenly day to day, but in the end I accomplished what I had intended. So yes, I feel mostly confident about covering the bases in terms of day-to-day expectations & tasks.

***

15. For the most part, although a few things confuse me. Well, for day-to-day expectations and tasks, I feel sort of confident, only because there were some days in class where I would darft 3 blogs, and others I would have written one comment. There were days at home where I commented 6 times, and others where I didn’t even open my laptop. I wasn’t necessarily sure of what the exact expectations and tasks were, I just knew the overall ones. I feel as if they were a bit fuzzy and unclear, but for my team as a whole I feel like I completed every tasks they gave me with speed and quality.

***

16. Absolutely, 100%, No doubt! I would be forced to admit that it’s one thing to know the expectations that are before you and another to be confident about them. While I feel that I met the expectations set before me I will admit that at times the task proved rather daunting. But in the end taking it all one day at a time proved to be very manageable.

***

17. Absolutely, 100%, No doubt! I felt that I did a good job with coming in to class everyday and working. Although the first three weeks were tough for me, I helped out my group. In class I read other blogs. Reading all of the blogs finally sparked something in my brain and I got it. I was soon able to question the story. The first few weeks were slow for me. I eventually understood it and was able to write.

***

18. No. I feel lots of regret in this area. Of course, this regret is irrational, because many of the ideas I have tackled with took 5 weeks to come by and therefore those ideas would be immature at 1 week. I had to accumulate as much information from the text as possible in order to write the things I wrote.

***

19. For the most part, although a few things confuse me. Now that the Alice Project is over, I feel more confident that the expectations were reasonable. At first, I was a little hesitant as to how I would be able to get all of the entries done on time. My only fear is that some of my entries are somewhat weaker than others due to the time constaint.

***

20. I’m lost like Alice. I feel like the day to day expectations & tasks should have been enforced. There was no motivation for procrastinators to do anything other than wait until the last minute and speed through the blogs. Same on the 2.0 tools; because of procrastinators, the whole team has to wait until the end to get these done because nobody actually gets around to doing it.

***

21. For the most part, although a few things confuse me. For the first two/three weeks, the project was going well for me. I had plenty of comments and was ahead of the game with the blogs. Somewhere around weeks four and five I started to lose track of the project. I was at the point where I knew enough about “Alice” to write, but I didn’t have any more ideas. I had almost left the blog for two weeks, and needed to really pick up the pace if I wanted to reach the deadline. By the end, I had met the quota, with a little spillage. GoogleDocs had really helped keep me on track, because I could see what I had to do, and by when it should have been done. Some blogs, like “Don’t Come Around Here No More” took more time than neccisary because I got distracted. It did turned out well by the 6th week.

***

22. I now know that the amount of work was required to make sure that we begin to dig deeper as we become more interested in the story. This forces us to try and picture what is going on in Wonderland. The expectations were in place to make us get rolling with increasing speed as we begin to relieze that this project is actually quite fun.

***

23. Absolutely, 100%, No doubt! Everyday I knew what I was doing coming in. I would pull up wordpress and google docs. I would either begin to comment or work on a blog post. Also, I worked on our team spreadsheet. Our team did really good with our spreadsheet, everyday it was updated. And it made it a lot easier to keep track of what all we had acomplished.

***

24. Absolutely, 100%, No doubt! Now that the project has ended, I understand more the time ‘skeleton’ that we should have worked around. Sometimes I just had random BLOG! urges, I would jot down my ideas and go further with it later when I had time. Sadly, I discovered this near the end of the project, with so little time on my hands I just gave the opportunity away at first, but the project is more efficient both time-wise, quality-wise, and grade-wise if you really read Alice. By READING ALICE I mean that YOU should read the story according to your own experience and life. Connections will come to you, its practically inevitable.

***

25. Absolutely, 100%, No doubt! The tasks of composing entries, comments, and using web tools were meant to be done in class. However, I don’t think it would have been possible to create the finish project my team created by working solely in class. While it is an in-class project, it requires out-of-class time to make it truly spectacular. I think perhaps it would have been possible to do the minimum solely in class, but I think part of the reason many of my team members (myself included) were hardly able to start and finish a single post in a single class was because we all wanted to make sure they were of superb quality. That superb quality, I think, can hardly be achieved solely in a 45-minute class period.

***

26. For the most part, although a few things confuse me. It was really great getting to work with the laptops everyday, although sometimes it was hard to stay focused on my work bu tmy team kept me motivates. It made me feel independent and instead of having someone tell me what to do (I’m a rebellious teenager, I hate forced direction!) I felt comfortable being able to control my work schedule. I also feel like it was a manageable work load to handle over 6 week span of time, but at the same time it was a challenge. I could hit the designated number, but finding something worth while to write about was a bit…difficult to say the least, at times.

***

27. “Absolutely, 100%, No doubt!” Yes, I do. I know that my job during the project was to write interesting, thought-provoking blog posts, comment on my fellow classmates’ posts, and help my teammates in any way possible. I also understand now that I was expected to form ideas about AAIW that could be seen as if an adult had written them, and I feel that I did a fairly good job at that. I was expected to make a website that, if any random person in the world stumbled accross it, they would not be able to tell that it was written by a team of 10th grade students unless they were told outright.

***

28. Somewhere between A and B: I understood the day to day expectations, but I still would not say 100% no doubt. I pretty much “get it” and I did my blogs and comments and stuff, but I had not put everything off until the end so much I could have done more, but I still got everthing done. I just kinda put all the day to day stuff for a few weeks into a few days.

***

29. Absolutely, 100%, No doubt! Yes. I’ve reached the state of knowing, when I walk into the room, exactly what needs to get done, and how it needs to be done. It’s really a good feeling to know exactly what you’re doing. I can’t think of a more evocative way of saying this, except for: Yes, I know what I’m doing when I walk up to my computer, or a school laptop, and I couldn’t be in a better situation.

***

30. For the most part, although a few things confuse me. I definitely knew what needed to be done by the end of the project however I did not always know what to do every single day. Often I would pull everything up and realize that I did not want to force another blog that might bring my quality down, and neither did I wish to just sit there, so I would do a comment or two. I realized that these different ways to do things may indeed be what we needed to do. This realization of our free time, being directly porportional to the amount of work we put in was a marvelous discovery.

***

31. During the first two weeks of the project, I was a little concerned about everyone’s progress on the project . I was really worried that we wouldn’t get everything done in time, even though we had a lot of time to complete it. I was still trying to figure out how everything worked when we first started the project. As the weeks begaan to go by really fast like speeding cars on a highway, we started to make really good progress. Everyone started to understand how everything worked, and our blog entries were really good. I was even impressed about what others thought about our blogs. It’s nice to know what others think of your blogs, and what you can improve on by reading them.

***

32. [Absolutely, 100%, No doubt!] Yes I definitely feel confident with the day-to-day tasks. After reading the rubric a lot and figuring out what you wanted I can say I whole project comes easy. I feel like I’ve completed your tasks and your expectations throughly and can be considered for an A. This became feel good about this. I was struggling a little at first to come up with ideas but now the more clear for me when I became curiouser and curiouser by continuing the project. It really grew on me and became a fun thing to do.

***

33. Absolutely, 100%, No doubt! I definitely feel confident on what the day-to-day expectations were. I understand that we were supposed to read the book outside of class and inclass we were supposed to give our oppinions about it and read the other blogs and see what their oppinions of the reading were, even if it was specifically over the chapter we read. Also, coming out of this, I know understand why some people write the way they do and now I can distinguish one person’s writing from another’s. These tasks were understood from day 1 to me.

***

34. Absolutely, 100%, No doubt! All of my teammates were constantly on track. We kept in contact throughout the duration of the project and made sure each and every one of us was doing what they were supposed to. However, I don’t think my group even needed the motivation. We all worked very hard and got results. I am completely content with our work.

***

35. Absolutely, 100%, No doubt! I feel like I have thoroughly completed my project.

***

36. Yes I do. I met all the requirements and tasks. Every day I was working on a new blog or at least thinking of what to say on a blog. So yes i am confident with the day to day expectations of this project.

***

37. I feel like I have done a good job of getting everything done. I probably should have managed my time a little better so that I wouldn’t have to do so much in one day. If I wer to do this project again I would schedule what I would need to get done on a day to day basis. I found myself doing a lot of make-up wrtk over the weekends. After the project ended I felt like I did as much as I could do considering all of my other work and the amount of time we had. The overall quality of my work could have been better. I should have taken more time to check over everything that I did to make sure that it was good quality. If I would have done that I would feel absolutly confident about the work that I have done.

***

38. Absolutely, 100%, No doubt! I understand the principles of daily work that the project required to survive. I was able to witness the change in human element of my team members and peers. Some enjoyed the project, others did not, others did not care, but at the end of the day we each had work to be done, irregardless of mentality. Sorry to be tangential, but I think this addresses the idea of procrastination as well as Work. Work is the future (and for some current) issue that requires completion every day no matter the worker’s feeling.

***

39. For the most part, although a few things confuse me. I have a few questions all of them are fairly simple… One: One thing I had always wondered about this blog is this: lets say I get all your comments done, and I don’t “post” anything until the last day. But then I post this huge eight page analysis of Alice’s journey, It’s beautifully written, and shows a deep understanding for the book. However, it only covers one subject, and it is the only thing I turn into you. How would you grade this blog? Would you grade it for it’s worth or dock them points for not following the blog guide lines? Two: I had this idea early on but I decided not to do it, partially because of work load and partially because of self doubt. Let’s say I once again I do all my comments. I slowly do blogs until I have eleven. Then I turn in a three page alternate ending to Alice… This ending while not analysing anything directly, seems to be written by Lewis Carrol himself, and opens up entirely new characters and questions to debate. How many blogs would that count as? Three: Which is better to have five meaningful blogs? or twenty filler blogs? While these questions are important I over all understand the day to day expectations.

***

40. Sort of. Now that we are done, I don’t know what we are going to be doing for the next wee.

***

41. 100% As the project went on and I got the hang of it everything that you wanted soon became a reality.

***

42. Absolutely, 100%, No doubt! Everyday I came into the classroom with no doubts about what I needed to do. I was confident and that made me work harder. The first few days of the project I was a little apprehensive about what to write about, but after that it just flowed out of me. It became easier and easier to come into class, get my laptop, sit down, and work on the project. I became the editor during the thrid week. By this point I had already seen two of my teammates in this position and they helped me through it. I knew what to expect and that made it simpler. Sometimes coming up with an idea for a blog entry was hard so I would go to other groups’ blogs and look for ideas to expand off of, but I always found something.

***

43. Sort of. Like many of my peers, I had to post a great deal of blogs near the end of the assignment. I felt rushed, but in the end it was not bad at all. In the grand scheme, I did NOT do the amount of work that I should have done every day. If I had, I would not have had to ‘cram’ at the end of the project. Even though i did ‘cram,’ I think that my best work came out of those final blogs that I did during the final days. I could not do blogs in class, for it was too loud. I could not concentrate wholly, and resorted to doing blogs in class. This is why I would say my better blogs came out of the ones that I did later. That is when I realized that I could not write well in class. That put a hamper on my productivity because at home there are more ‘silent’ distractions that I would rather do. If I were to go back in time, I would work more every day and figure out a calendar to finish up the work a little ahead of schedule.

***

44. For the most part, although a few things confuse me. I understand that day to day that we should post blogs that came to mind, and add comments to others. I felt very rushed the first week. I was the first editor. I didn’t know what to expect, I was so caught up with being editor, that I did not post a blog. I had to catch up the next week, but then it soon turned out that I didn’t “feel” like posting blogs when I did have time. It is easier to blog about something if you understand it more. As editor I felt as if i needed to do more for the team. I felt as if I was a guinea pig. As the weeks progressed, it seemed as if the other editors did not have to fumble with it as much as I did. They knew what to expect. Also I remember that it may have been my fault, becuase I literally sat down and read through that whole blog, walked it over to Mr. Long to have him prrofread it before I posted it. The other editors in the later weeks did not do that, everyone just submitted their blogs for review and they got posted. I think that technology was a little bit difficult the first week so that was why I felt so much more rushed then everyone else.

***

45. Absolutely, 100%, No doubt! I knew the day to day expectations from the very beginning. I knew i should of written a couple comments a day and I should of been working on a blog at all times. Although I did not, I knew I should of. The reason I did not do this was because I had soccer and other school work and a life. If i did not have to deal with any of those other things, I would of set my mind to this project 100%. There is no doubt that I was working on this project more than anything else, but I still feel like I could of done more. I did stay up late almost every night and got no sleep at all some nights because of the daily tasks. I feel like it was all worth it though. Being able to expreince what I did, not a lot of people do. Honestly, I like challanges, which would be why I’m in all honors and one AP when I know I really don’t have time for it all, and Mr. Long definantely put me up to a challange by this project.

***

46. Yes, although at first I did not. I worked hard on the project the first week or two ,but then began to get caught up in other classes and outer school activities. This caused me to neglect the blog some and get a little behind. I am not one of the people who did ten blogs the nigt before, but I definitaly was struggling to come up with some ideas the last couple days to help put me over the top. I think if I would have somehow made a little more time for English and done a blog every night of something of that habbit it would have been much less stressful. Putting things off ends off biting you in the butt, but somehow we were all able to pull it off.
I think the expectations were completely do-able and almost merciful. 12 blogs is only one per chapter which is very easy to be done when dealing with a fairy tale land such as Wonderland. The expectations were very precise and easy to understand it was just up to us to fulfill the requirements and decide whether or not to go above and beyond.

***

47. Yes, the expectations were completely clear to me. They were referenced since the beginning of this project. Those who did not understand the process must not have reviewed the guidelines correctly. While some may have been happy with the minimum, I strived to exceed the expectations. The realtively ‘loose’ guidelines allowed students to develop their ideas in a very complex fashion, as well as to make it genuine. The only part that confused me was the topic of commenting back on our own posts. I was not aware that it was apart of the criteria. This was the only point of confusion in the expectations. The expectations were fairly clear, while also giving us the opportunity to explore our ideas withour restraint. So my response is: Absolutely, 100%, No doubt!

***

48. Absolutely, 100%, No doubt! I think the expectations were very clear. We knew what to do when we came into class and what to do when we were at home. We had a deadline to work towards and knew the minimum. We also had constant reminders of what was expected by you, and others who left comments of some of the posts. For instance, when someone really liked how you analyzed something you were reminded of how you should continue to write and what people would like to see. I really don’t understand how it could have been unclear.

***

49. For the most part, although a few things confuse me. Now that the project has ended and I can finally look at the bigger picture and the project has a lot more meaning to me now. While I was working on the project I ‘sort of’ understood the expectations, but not as well as I do now.

***

50. Do you feel confident about the DAY-TO-DAY EXPECTATIONS & TASKS of the project after the PROJECT HAS ENDED? Absolutely, 100%, No doubt! I think that the expectations were not all that hard to accomplish. If you worked on the project a little bit each day, then it is not hard to finish all that is required.

***

51. Easy peasy. We had to get our blogs and comments done, and not goof around. This certainly wasn’t something to take lightly. We had to keep up on our timesheets (which, I’ll admit, often slipped my mind).

***

52. Absolutely, 100%, No doubt! Well, I finished with the correct number of blogs/comments, so I suppose that shows I had a good enough grasp of the ‘day-to-day’ expectations to pass. If I was to go back using what I know now, could I have done more? Certainly. I probably would have given the second answer during any period leading up to the last week…after that “push”, I have a MUCH greater understanding of this this issue.

***

53. For the most part, although a few things confuse me. I probably could have pushed myself a little harder and gotten a lot more done on some class days, if I had then I probably would have had a few extra blogs. But, in the end I was definately using my time effectively.

 

Leave a Reply

