The "Alice Project"

A 10th Grade Honors English Tour of "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland"

“I Wish I Had Done More…” – End of Project Reflections December 7, 2009

Filed under: After the Deadline,Observations,Student Entries — Christian Long @ 11:55 pm

Via SurveyMonkey, all students were asked — on this Monday after the student-submission side of the project has come to an end — to comment on a range of questions.

***

Question 9:

What are YOU most FRUSTRATED by in terms of THE WORK YOU DID (or didn’t do) during the “Alice Project” now that the PROJECT HAS ENDED?

***

Here were their (unedited) responses:

***

1. I am very frustrated that I discovered so many more ideas and topics I could of blogged about after the project was over. 

***

2. There was nowhere close to enough time. I spent one or two weeks not publishing blog posts both because of me looking up concepts and interpretations that others had made of them (nihilism,existentialism). If I wanted (not sure whether or not) to continue to write blogs on Alice, they could possibly reach doctoral paper length. 

***

3. I wish I would have put more time in to my work and done more for my team. 

***

4. That it took me so long to finally “get it.” 

***

5. I am frustrated that it ended! I keep seeing something and going, “that would make a great post!” I just wish that all of these ideas had come sooner! 

***
6. I wish I had done more blogs, and done them earlier in the project. 

***

7. I’m frustradted I didn’t get to go through the entire project as my other classmates did, causing me to finish the project as the others did. 

***

8. I could have commented more. 

***

9. I am most frustrated the fact that I didn’t come up with different ideas about Alice in the “real” world rather than all analyzing the “text” itself.

***

10. I did to much at the end and not enough in the beginning.

***

11. I’m frustrated that it took me so long to figure out something to write about. I mean I could analyze and everything, I just didn’t know how to take that and write a blog about it. 

***

12. I wanted to do more Cover it Live sessions. 

***

13. That it took me a long time to write blogs, and it was hard to find a lot of time to work on them, so I only did twelve(the minimum) instead of more. 

***

14. I feel like I did excellent work, but I feel like my grade is going to suffer because technically the quantitative amount is considered minimal. 

***

15. I’m frustrated with the length of my blogs, because at first I didn’t necessarily know what I was doing, and if I was doing the right thing.

***

16. I said that Technology and I were on speaking terms, perhaps i should have said that i keep my enemies closer than my friends. 

***

17. I wish I was not stuck at the beginning of the project. I would have more blogs by now. 

***

18. I didn’t think enough. 

***

19. I’m frustrated with how long it took to write thoughful blog posts. 

***

20. Having a really good idea, then realizing I only can make 10-12 sentences out of it. I then have to ‘stretch’ my blog post out because I want to get it out there, and it doesn’t look as good. This, and teammates changing the site deign without clearing it up with the other members. 

***

21. I got all these ideas after the Deadline.

***

22. The thing that annoyed me the most was the amount of work I had to tackle and interpret. 

***

23. When I was stuck on writing blogs. Mostly in the beginning, I had a hard time knowing what to write about.

***

24. I’m really sad that I didn’t have enough time for Alice and the blog, but I plan on analyzing Alice more and there is DEFINITELY more blogging in my future. 

***

25. I wish my team had interacted more during the project. I think we could only have made the project better had we collaborated more. 

***

26. I’m frustrated that my work slumped during the missled of the project because I could’ve had time for many more posts and work on the website, but I just felt like I had unlimited time, which definitely not true. 

***

27. I am frustrated that I waited until the last few weeks of the project to finish my blogs. While I feel that I still ended strong, I think that if I had done perhaps 3 a week each week I would have had a better time. 

***

28. I know I could have done more work. 

***

29. The fact that I had a “brainfart” and didn’t reallize that blog #13 was actually a blog, and so I only commented on blogs 1 through 12, though I commented multiple times on several of the others. 

***

30. I feel as though I could have used a prezi or diigo to augment my understanding. 

***

31. I really wanted to do more that what was to be expected. I wanted to do more blog entries and more comments, even though I did what was required. If I had a little more time, I would be able to do at least 20 blog entries and many more comments.

***

32. I wish I could have had a lot more blogs and comments. After the project ended, I had so many ideas come to me.

***

33. I really did not like how long it took me to realize how my writing needed to improve and how I didn’t realize that until the end of the project. 

***

34. Even though I went over the minimum of blogs, I wish I could’ve done more. There is just so much there I’d like to write about. 

***

35. I am not frustrated, but sometimes I wish I had done some more extra blogs and comments for a possiblity if a higher grade. 

***

36. There is nothing that Im frustrated with. 

***

37. I am frustrated with the fact that I didn’t do much at the beginning of the project because of my lack of understanding. Now I have so much more I wish I could have gotten a chance to do. 

***

38. I did not have better quality and did not have a greater quantity.

***

39. I feel if i had less work in every class I could ahve put more energy into this. It dissapoints me greatly that I was unable to. 

***

40. I wish I never procrastinated in the first place

***

41. I’m not pleased that I wasn’t able to complete more blog entrie that I had ideas for as the project closed.

***
42. I am frustrated with the amount of ideas I had that I wasn’t able to convey through the period of this project. I could easily have done many more weeks. 

***

43. The lack of quality that my blogs seem to possess.

***

44. I missed one comment because I thought my Diigo would count. 

***

45. Computers not logging on.

***

46. The fact I could think of many ideas after the project was over to blog about.

***

47. I found myself reviewing my work after the process. I feel that I could have had less grammatical errors, as well as a couple more concrete examples in which to further analyze the subject of the post. 

***

48. I wish I had worked on not having repeating ideas. 

***

49. Waiting until the last minute to finish my work. 

***

50. Well the comments and the blogs towards the end of the time started to have less quality. 

***

51. I wasn’t really all that frustrated with my work. While I wish I could have come up with more blog ideas, there aren’t any big frustrations about the project. 

***

52. I probably could have added a few more entries if I managed my time better; still, my entries were longer than average, so perhaps not many more. 

***

53. I didn’t do anything extra, and I’m really upset at myself for that. And for pushing everything into the last few days. But, I did work really hard.

***

54. some of my blogs could have been better – more thought out or better organized.

 

Leave a comment