The "Alice Project"

A 10th Grade Honors English Tour of "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland"

“If Only Mr. Long Had…” – End of Project Reflections December 7, 2009

Filed under: After the Deadline,Observations,Student Entries — Christian Long @ 11:38 pm

Via SurveyMonkey, all students were asked — on this Monday after the student-submission side of the project has come to an end — to comment on a range of questions.

***

Question 7:

What is ONE thing that Mr. Long COULD HAVE DONE to have helped YOU BE SUCCESSFUL with the “Alice Project” now that the PROJECT HAS ENDED?

***

Here were their (unedited) responses:

***

1. Maybe giving a suggestion on how to manage our time better. 

***

2. Given an honest assessment of the top (insert number) blogs every week, instead of posting all of the published ones as “recommendations”. This would help give us an idea of what the “real world” is looking for in an interesting blog, since we, as tenth graders are not our own average audience.

***

3. I think that we should have talked about the story as a class more because, I think it would have kept us all on the same page more. 

***

4. A beginning dicussion about the start of the book. 

***

5. I don’t know. 

***

6. It may have been helpful if we had done the “Alice Project” and “Lord of the Flies” project at different times, so that we could focus on each project equally and put our best into each of them. 

***

7. During the duration of this project, Mr. long was also learning, so I’m not quite sure what else he may have been able to do.

***

8. Explain some of the scenes a little more. I was a little confused about the storyline at some points.

***

9. If Mr. Long could have thought about the overall workload and stress this project would bring while also having a LOTF project at the same time. 

***

10. Make sure that we were working.

***

11. I think that we probably should’ve picked one day out of the week, like a Tuesday after doing vocab quizzes, where we would just discuss as a class rather then be on the laptops that day. In fact it doesn’t even have to be a long conversation, 15 minutes and then we’d go and write. 

***

12. Spellcheck and grammer check is always welcome. 

***

13. One thing that Mr. Long could have done to help me be successful was to have more than one class discussion about the book, Alice in Wonderland. 

***

14. I feel like he did all he could do without interfering too much. 

***

15. I feel like I didn’t know whether I was analyzing the story correctly, and it would’ve helped to just have some guidance or a finger to point me in the right direction.

***

16. I really apreciated the fact that Mr. Long, for the most part, left us to our own devices. 

***

17. Help me to come up with ideas for blogs. 

***

18. He’s pretty helpful and swell. 

***

19. There wasan’t anything major that would have helped tremendously. He really did everything he could have to help us.

***

20. Have a required 2 post per week, and 2-3 comments a week so that slackers don’t get piled up with all that work in the end (especially if they are in your group). Didn’t apply to me, but I’m sure some people feel this way. 

***

21. He did all that was necessary. 

***

22. I do not believe that Mr. Long could have helped me, and that I was the problem that only I could fix. 

***

23. In the beginning, helped us out with the very first blog. Just getting us started. 

***

24. I think Mr. Long did everything that he could have done without doing it for us. Multiple all nighters pulling this amazing, now legendary project together is much appreciated. 

***

25. I think the fact that Mr. Long was absent for a week of the project and never supplied entry-specific feedback took away some of what the project could have been. 

***

26. He could have showed us some helpful skills, hints, and tricks on the technology side of things.

***

27. There is very little, but perhaps have demonstrated the behind-the-scenes of some of the Web 2.0 collaberation tools beforehand. 

***

28. I think I would had done better with a better day-to-day schedule. 

***

29. I would have appreciated a greater degree of motivation to write when I’m not on deadline.

***

30. Allow the technology to be optional and allow us to understand them on our own terms. 

***

31. Honestly, I think that Mr. Long did his job. He helped me when I was stuck on what to write about next. He gives really good advice!! 

***

32. I think he did everything right and everything he could have done because I feel like I did a good job.

***

33. I could have understood the editing proccess a little more. 

***

34. Not much. Maybe help and motivate OTHERS that I saw who hadn’t done many blogs, who procrastinated. 

***

35. For those who were stuck on what they should blog about, he could have posted a couple questions per week to write a response in their opinion. 

***

36. There was really nothing he could of done. 

***

37. I think that he did what he could to help us be successful. 

***

38. I do not know. Honestly, he worked such that everything was edited and posted within hours of publishing. He provided support where needed. He made the project fun. 

***

39. Nothing. He was very helpful 

***

40. He did his part greatly. No more is needed to be said.

***

41. He could have been more hands on in term of motivating us to do work. 

***

42. I think that this project was more of a “Do-It-Yourself” type thing. Mr. Long did all he could while still giving us the freedom to discover these ideas on our own. 

***

43. A tutorial on technology. 

***

44. Nothing he did his job, I just needed to do better. 

***

45. Nothing!!!! 

***

46. In class Discussions once a week. 

***

47. The reminders of the required comment responses on your own posts would be nice to have because I found myself unaware that commenting back on my own posts was part of the requirements. 

***

48. Nothing more as far as I know. 

***

49. Manuvering around the dashboard.

***

50. Well I think that urging us to keep up with the blogs more would have helped. 

***

51. Nothing, really. Everything was very clear and understandable. Even with the huge amount of work we had to put in, we were responsible for everything, and that was that. 

***

52. He did a solid job. I’m not sure what I could add. 

***

53. I’m pretty sure that everything that went wrong was on my on behalf…so yeah. Maybe if he had pushed the little time we had left a little more, but I’m still an epic procrastinator. 

***

54. Nothing.

 

Leave a Reply

