The "Alice Project"

A 10th Grade Honors English Tour of "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland"

“If We Did It Again One Day” – End of Project Reflections December 7, 2009

Filed under: After the Deadline,Observations,Surveys — Christian Long @ 11:57 pm

Via SurveyMonkey, all students were asked — on this Monday after the student-submission side of the project has come to an end — to comment on a range of questions.

***

Question 10:

IF we were to do a ‘similar’ project WITH ANOTHER SCHOOL to explore a DIFFERENT piece of literature (during the 2nd semester), what IDEAS or ADVICE can you offer Mr. Long?

***

Here were their (unedited) responses:

***
1. Set up mini deadlines to ensure the students writtings are done with quality instead of last minute blogs.

***

2. Limit the amounts of blogs written. This may not seem fair or reational at first, but the reasoning is actually fairly simple. If students continue to post an average of 2 posts per week, this quickly runs into logistical problems. Our small group of honors students wrote more than 700 blogs in six weeks. If we add another school, even one of similar size, the volume will increase. This leads to too many ideas being wasted, double posted and not read. Thus limit the amount of blog posts to encourage higher development in the writing, the thought and the finesse. Quality over Quantity, because few care for quantity, and the few that must care for the quantity are overwhelmed by it.

***

3. I would say we should set weekly goals (as far as reading and blog #s) and have weekly dissussions (perhas with the other school) so that we can make sure that everyone gets their work done and that they are really understanding everything.

***

4. Start reading the first few chapters before we start the blog.

***

5. Change the limits, or perhaps don’t put limits. Having a target number gave me a lot of stress. If their hadn’t been a set number, I think I might have created more ideas.

***

6. Ensure that we will be able to talk to the students (if they are to be our “teammates”) live so that we will be able to go over our ideas to each other and not have time differences or different classtimes be an issue (while we can do this at home, it would be much easier if we could find a way to do it in class, as well, considering the considerable work we will have in our AP classes, especially, next semester.)

***

7. This would be a great project, and maybe each class could be their own team?

***

8. Nothing as of right now.

***

9. I would hope Mr. Long would converse with the other teachers who have been kindly enough to let us have an ample amount of time to work on the Alice Project instead of fully working on their class. Also to take into consideration the other school’s view of what is an “A” project/ what they think is enough dedication towards the project.

***

10. give us constant communication with the other school.

***

11. IN CLASS DISCUSSIONS! I like when we all get together and discuss different things, rather then us going off on our own and trying it.

***

12. Consider the requirements regarding team effort and specify clearly since it might be more confusing.

***

13. I think that if we do this project again, I think that there should not be as many required blogs.

***

14. I feel like we analyzed the living daylights out of this, which kind of ruined the story for me. Maybe we could bog by ourselves for two weeks unsupervised, and the you could join us and direct us before we ruin it for ourselves.

***

15. I feel like it was a well-organized project, considering he made it up a week before (or so he told my class), and that as a teacher he was fantastic

***
16. I loved this project, you have one satisfied student here.

***

17. I think the projetc worked great the way it was.

***

18. LETS DO IT!!!! :D:D:D:D (uhm, lots of skyp-ing)

***

19. Hmm…I can’t think of anything. I am really content with how this project went.

***

20. Less of the Web 2.0 tools, they felt like a gimmick. Also, do it at the beginning, like VERY beginning of the semester, because AP Euro gets twice as difficult in the 2nd semester, and Mrs. Bonner will not let The ____ Project stop her again.

***

21. It turned out well, so I would just leave it to the students of that other school.

***

22. Maybe ask us to interpret a specific area to see how we think what that area means.

***

23. Really none. Just keep it like the Alice project. I think now that we have experienced this, we would know exactly what to do.

***

24. I would love to do that, I think it would even be better because many of us are masters wordpress now and making time work to suite the blog properly.

***

25. I can’t think of anything major that I would change about the project. Could Mr. Long perhaps be present for more of the project and supply specific feedback?

***

26. Skype it up! Find a way for us to be in teams with the kids in that school too and a way to get to know them. Make sur ethey fully understand the Alice project bu tnot duplicate it because no one likes a copy cat 😉

***

27. I think that would be terrific, and the only ideas and advice that I can offer (at the current time) is the answer for #7.

***

28. I say keep it the same.

***

29. PLEASE encourage my parents to let me own a webcam – I think if we’re doing this with another school, webcam discussions between team members would be invaluable.

***

30. We get to lead;)

***

31. I would honestly encourage the other school to do the same thing that we did. It helps you understand the book better, and can be somewhat addicting. These kinds of projects are really good learnign materials and I honestly really enjoyed working on it.

***

32. I would LOVE LOVE LOVE to do this again. I think it would be awesome to raise the standards because we’ve come so far and now that we know what we are doing we could do a lot more.

***

33. First of all I think this is a great idea. My advice would be to do the project with the another school close to us so we could meet face-to-face to talk about the project instead of doing it online or by video chat.

***

34. Make sure communication is solid. The teams need to have easy ways to contact eachother and make sure procrastination does not occur.

***

35. Lets look at a book that isn’t so random, something more like Lord of The Flies.

***

36. I honestly have no idea.

***

37. First of all I think that would be a very good idea. I think the project should be formated the same way.

***

38. Logisitics.

***

39. I would say don’t do it. While this project was fun. I think doing another in the sam eyear would be over kill. instead we should focus on a new project something differant but just as fun, and expansive.

***

40. I think we probably should have deadlines to when posts are due and such

***

41. Having a more hands on role in motivating students to work. It will not only, increase the number of blog entries completed, but it will result in entries with higher thought that cover more idea and topics.

***

42. Make the project more interactive- skype and other ways of communicating with others.

***

43. A better overview at the beginning.

***

44. How would we communicate, collaborate? Are our schedules different? Is that school in another time zone? There shouldn’t be an editor.

***

45. Frankenstein.

***

46. Give us more time and maybe a little less work to help keep or other teachers happy.

***

47. Just to make sure that the ‘loose’ requirements were still in play because our ideas will more appropriately display our knowledge if the guidelines were similar to The Alice Project.

***

48. I would ask you to give us a little more time if we were working with other people over a ‘harder’ story. Alice was a good book for the project, I don’t know how well others would work.

***

49. Have the teams combine. Two kids from the other school on the same team as two kids at this school or something like that.

***

50. I really don’t know. I don’t really like books so I would not have one to offer.

***

51. Do you mean we would talk to other students about a piece of literature? If that’s the case, then we should probably have a session before the project to just talk about what we want to do and get to know each other. That would remove any awkwardness later on.

***

52. That’s…quite ambitious. I’d advice that he take into consideration that the “team grade” should perhaps be less important, as if a member of one’s team from another school produces zero entries, there’s not a whole lot one can do to correct that without direct contact.

***

53. DO NOT PROCRASTINATE. IT WILL EAT YOU ALIVE.

***

54. I think it would be difficult for us to collaborate only through internet.

 

Leave a Reply

